2023: Yoruba Patriots Movement Endorses Tinubu - Penangle | News Portal in Nigeria
Tue. Jun 18th, 2024
Spread the love

Prominent Yoruba leaders have thrown their weight behind former Lagos State Governor, Bola Tinubu for 2023 Presidency, warning that the current disunity among the people may work against the South West zone to produce Nigeria’s President in 2023.

This came to the front burner at the 2021 Pan-Yoruba Summit titled “Yoruba Nation: Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow” organised by the Yoruba Patriots Movement (YPM), at the International Conference Centre, University of Ibadan.

National Coordinator, YPM, Oladosu Oladipo said Yoruba should not allow history to repeat itself as disunity among Yoruba had in the past prevented former Premier of the Western Region, Chief Obafemi Awolowo and Chief M.K.O Abiola from becoming president of the country.

Oladosu stressed the importance of unity among the Yorubas, stating there were zoning agreements in the APC to ensure that power returns to the Southern part of the country in 2023, which was the reason, according to him, the Yoruba nation to voted massively for President Buhari in 2015 and 2019 respectively.

He charged the Yorubas ahead of 2023 polls, stressing that the best product from the geo-political zone is the former governor of Lagos State and National Leader of APC, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu.

Former president, Central Council of Ibadan Indigenes (CCII), Chief Bayo Oyero and Dr. Stella Alhazan from Texas, United States, both called for unity unity among the Yoruba race if the South West presidency is going to become a reality.

Former Commissioner for Information in Oyo state and Former House of Representatives member, Bosun Oladele implored Yorùbá leaders to look inwards and reconcile every dissenting voice so that everyone should key into the South West Agenda for 2023.

Yoruba leaders from Lagos, Ogun, Oyo, Osun, Ekiti and Ondo states who graced the summit include: Bishop of Ibadan North, the African Church; Right Rev’d Abiodun Ademola; President, Isokan Islam of Nigeria, Sheik Abdullah Olaore; Chieftain of All Progressives Congress (APC) in Lagos State, Henry Ajomale; and Vice Chairman of South West Agenda Group for Asiwaju 2023 (SWAGA ‘23), Senator Adesoji Akanbi from Oyo State, among many others.

0 Post Views

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *