Oyo Assembly Confirms Appointment of Makinde's Seven Commissioner Designates - Penangle | News Portal in Nigeria
Tue. Jun 25th, 2024
Spread the love

The Oyo State House of Assembly Thursday confirmed the appointment of all the seven commissioner nominees forwarded to it by Governor Seyi Makinde.

It would be recalled that Governor Makinde had on Monday forwarded the list of the seven commissioners to the House of Assembly for screening and ultimately for reappointment.

Their names were announced on the floor of the House on Tuesday by the Speaker, Hon. Adebo Ogundoyin while reading the letter to that effect from Governor Seyi Makinde.

The confirmation of the commissioner nominees followed their appearance and the presentation of reports of their Ministries before the State Legislators.

The Commissioners are Mr. Akinola Ojo (Ministry of Finance), Prof. Oyelowo Oyewo (Ministry of Justice), Chief Bayo Lawal (Ministry of Local Government and Chieftaincy Matters) and Prof. Dawood Sangodoyin (Ministry of Public Works).

Others are Barrister Temilolu Ashamu (Ministry of Energy), Mrs. Faosat Sanni (Ministry of Women Affairs) and Alhaji Ayansiju Lawal, (Ministry of Establishment and Training).

The Lawmakers took turns to ask questions, seek clarifications and give suggestions to the Commissioner designates on moving their various ministries forward while the Commissioner designates responded one after the other.

The speaker urged the commissioners to do more in justifying the confidence reposed in them especially the governor, which led to their reappointment.

“I say congratulations to all our seven returning commissioners on their reappointment. This is great privilege and another rare opportunity for you to continue in your various ministries, and also another chance to serve the people of Oyo State. I therefore advise that you take note of all the questions and observations made by the honourable members towards moving Oyo State forward.” Oyo Speaker said.

Speaking on behalf of other Commissioners , the Oyo State Commissioner for the Ministry of Local Government and Chieftaincy Matters, Chief Bayo Lawal assured that more developmental programmes will be embarked upon by their various ministries to further advance the vision of Governor Seyi Makinde.

Hon Lawal expressed appreciation to members of the 9th Oyo State House of Assembly for their support for the present administration, and the cordiality existing amongs all the arms of government in Oyo State.

1302 Post Views

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *